Members of the Commission for Africa

Sir Bob Geldof

Sir Bob Geldof (Ireland)
Musician and activist

Bob Geldof was born in Dublin, Ireland. He was the lead singer of the Dublin band, The Boomtown Rats, and has also recorded four solo albums. His music awards include Ivor Novellos, Brits and Grammies.

In 1984, Geldof initiated the Band-Aid project, a charity for the victims of famine in Africa. In 1985 he organised the Live Aid concert and Sports Aid in 1986, and established the Band-Aid Trust to administer the $150,000,000 raised. Band-Aid continues to operate in eight African countries. In 1986, he was awarded a Knighthood for this work, and has been nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize three times.


More recently, he has been a vocal supporter of Jubilee 2000, the worldwide movement to cancel third world debt, and in 2001 was involved in setting up DATA (Debt, AIDS, Trade, Africa), a lobby group focused on generating more resources and better policy for African countries.

He is also currently writing an amendment to family law, where he is an outspoken and eloquent campaigner for improving fathers' rights. Geldof has a number of different business interests, and in 1991, founded Planet 24, one of the largest independent production companies in the UK. He is currently founder and chair of 10 Alps Broadcasting.


Back to top...

The Brandt Equation: 21st Century Blueprint for the New Global Economy

Commission for Africa

Global Marshall Plan Initiative

Network of
Spiritual Progressives'
Global Marshall Plan

Commission for Africa
Background Information
Press Releases

Our Common Interest: Report of the Commission for Africa
Launch of the Report
Download the Report

Members of the
Commission for Africa

Tony Blair (United Kingdom)
Sir Bob Geldof (Ireland)
Gordon Brown (United Kingdom)
Hilary Benn (United Kingdom)
Trevor Manuel (South Africa)
Michel Camdessus (France)
Anna Kajumulo Tibaijuka (Tanzania)
Tidjane Thiam (Côte D'Ivoire)
Nancy Landon Kassebaum Baker (USA)
Meles Zenawi (Ethiopia)
Ji Peiding (China)
Fola Adeola (Nigeria)
K. Y. Amoako (Ghana)
William S. Kalema (Uganda)
Ralph Goodale (Canada)
Linah Mohohlo (Botswana)
Benjamin Mkapa (Tanzania)

Contact Us · Site Map · Search · Help
Centre for Global Negotiations, Copyright © 2010 | Terms of Use | Privacy Notice